Swan Hotel

1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, BA15 1LN
Telephone: 01225 868686

Telephone: 01225 868686

Website - Email

Loading Photos & Map of Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel 1 Church Street Bradford-on-Avon Wiltshire 01225 868686 47 4.1
My stay @ the Swan
5 stars 5

'Had a very pleasant 4 day stay here. Clean well equipped room, spotless bedding & clean towels daily Had tea making facilities & bottled water. Very quite & away from pub noises. Very good choice of breakfast menu & delightful, friendly waitress, Gemmas'

Review By - Patricia Carruthers
Travelling as - Single Female
Date - 21st August, 2017

Verified Customer

Thank you
4 stars 4

'A very welcoming hotel. People were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a comfortable stay.'

Review By - Mary Rickard
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 8th August, 2017

Verified Customer

Disappointing
1 stars 1

'The beautiful town of Bradford on Avon can not justify the over pricing of our room for 2 nights. Poor or no wifi, stained floor, side tables balanced upon planks of wood, uneven floor, an uncomfortable mattress laying upon a single slab of wood, a step leading into the bathroom, no salmon/ black pudding ordered for breakfast that is included, no milk replenished in the room for second morning, no character or charm. Room 1 must be the furthest away, up 3 different stair cases and we had to switch the hallway lights on ourselves to find our way. The staff we spoke to were young and very apologetic, but when they explained the manager was on holiday you can\'t expect them to do much more than apologize. £270 for 2 night in a superior double room... I expect so much more and would not stay again. The positives are only the area and nice evening meal we had.'

Review By - kelly o\'neill
Date - 27th July, 2017

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and take feedback seriously; we are constantly looking at upgrading and replacing items in our room and the mattress will definitely be replaced shortly - many apologies that there was no salmon or black pudding for breakfast and this is definitely not acceptable neither is the standard of housekeeping. Once again I apologise for the experience you had during your stay and would welcome the opportunity to show you on a future occasion that this is not reflective of our standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us - our offerings of authentic Thai food alongside a Pub Classics menu are definitely going down well!'

Excellent location ++
4 stars 4

'Polite staff. Excellent breakfast and housekeeping.Clean room and good ensuite.'

Review By - Chris Sudale
Date - 21st July, 2017

Verified Customer

Very good
4 stars 4

'Excellent location. Very friendly staff, good food and comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again. In'

Review By - Gareth Davies
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 20th June, 2017

Verified Customer

Thank you
5 stars 5

'Very comfortable and pleasant staff, a pleasure to stay while working from home.'

Review By - Ann Anderson
Travelling as - Business Traveller
Date - 9th June, 2017

Verified Customer

Night at the swan
3 stars 3

'Friendly helpful staff Bed. Clean sheet and comfortable Just needs new carpets and a good clean around the skirtings or get rid of carpets and invest in no carpet floor. Shame as gave a feel of being dirty.'

Review By - Paula Tully
Travelling as - Single Female
Date - 21st May, 2017

Verified Customer

excellent position
5 stars 5

'the hotel was a lovely homely place,staff were very pleasant, breakfast was very good, would stay here again'

Review By - paul odonnell
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 2nd April, 2017

Verified Customer

Lovely hotel
5 stars 5

'The hotel itself was very interesting, lovely comfy bed with good quality bedding. Huge bathroom. The staff were all very nice, couldnt do enough for us, very welcoming. Good breakfast and very good Thai evening meal.'

Review By - Marilyn Bridge
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 17th March, 2017

Verified Customer

Comfortable & interesting hotel
4 stars 4

'Our first time in this area and this ancient hotel, equipped with 21st century additions such as electricity, running water etc was a really good place to stay. We were well looked after throughout and the bed was the most comfortable we had slept in for a long time. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Morning staff were taciturn but that added to the experience.'

Review By - Sally Siddall
Date - 18th January, 2017

Verified Customer

Great place
5 stars 5

'Staff were so helpful and friendly, making us feel like locals. The room was very comfortable and pleasant and the meal at the restaurant was one of the best Thai dishes I\'ve had. Finally, the offstreet parking was easily accessible and CCTV made me confident to leave my Bentley Arnage there overnight with worries of damage or theft occurring. Highly recommend The Swan!'

Review By - Chris Rigg
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 16th January, 2017

Verified Customer

Pleasant stay
3 stars 3

'It was a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, comfortable room and good breakfast. Hotel is in a nice setting and we wish we could have stayed a little longer. Plumbing needs attention in the room though and a little expensive for one night. But overall good choice.'

Review By - Mr. William Minnitt
Date - 2nd January, 2017

Verified Customer

Christmas shop
3 stars 3

'Perfect 1night stay, train station 5 mins walk direct train into bath,,lovely village shops and restaurants'

Review By - Debra Marsh
Date - 19th December, 2016

Verified Customer

Great location
3 stars 3

'We enjoyed our stay, and an evening meal on a cold night by an open fire was a great bonus. But there are good and bad things with this hotel. The staff were friendly and the Thai food (not included in the room rate) was very nice. The bed was comfy and the towels good quality. Location was perfect and there was live music too! But: the rate was expensive (120 gdp for a double room), the hot breakfast portions were small, the communal decor was tired looking, and the hotel should not be rated four stars (the interior design does not look as good as the photos). I also had to pay up front, which I hate doing!'

Review By - Andrew Powell
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 18th December, 2016

Verified Customer

Great hospitality
5 stars 5

'The hotel had a pleasant warm and welcoming feel to it the staff were helpful and polite upon arrival , the room was good value for the nights stop over we had a meal in the bar which was excellent a special thanks again to the staff who\'s attention and hospitality were first class'

Review By - Alan Lambden
Date - 11th December, 2016

Verified Customer

Lovely place to catch up with friends and family
5 stars 5

'We had a really pleasant stay here. Nice room, nice meal,and handy for the station. The staff were very helpful, despite it being a very busy evening for them. The Swan is in the heart of the town, a perfect setting.We had intended staying in Bath, but we were all so glad we stayed at the Swan instead.'

Review By - Nicky Palmer
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 27th November, 2016

Verified Customer

overnight stay
4 stars 4

'Very pleasant stay - clean, well-equipped rooms, nice breakfast, good pub and helpful, friendly staff.'

Review By - Ms. Susan Foster
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 23rd November, 2016

Verified Customer

Stay at Swan Hotel October 2016
4 stars 4

'Been many times. Very comfortable and friendly. Will return next year.'

Review By - Mr. Keith Rushworth
Date - 26th October, 2016

Verified Customer

Great hotel
4 stars 4

'A great little hotel with nice clean rooms, great staff and a cellar bar with live music. Absolutely perfect.'

Review By - Mr. Ben Limbrick
Travelling as - Young Couple
Date - 23rd October, 2016

Verified Customer

Great base for Kennet & Avon Canal
5 stars 5

'I chose The Swan for a 3-night stay as a base for 2 days\' cycling along the Kennet & Avon Canal. Poor start - no parking place available & the lad who checked me in seemed in a hurry! However I was very pleased with my room (room 6) which was very comfortable - lovely double bed, great tv, very nice shower, plenty of wardrobe space, well lit, and lots of little extras - 2 bottles of water, delicious biscuits, extra toiletries etc. - that make all the difference. I found all the staff very pleasant, friendly and obliging, especially Olivia. I was phoned at 10.30pm to let me know a parking place had been vacated by staff; one male employee escorted me to the back entrance to show me exactly where the newsagents\' was - little defining moments, very important! The £100pn price was about right - not a rip-off and not a fantastic bargain! I would definitely stay here again. The canal towpath between Bath and Devizes (not beyond Devizes) is one of the finest cycle trails in GB and perhaps more of this could be made in your publicity. One slight criticism - the dinner menu was very strongly biased towards Thai cuisine. This will be a \'plus\' for many people but my diet is very traditional. The soup on offer was mushroom three nights running (the chef kindly prepared potato/tomato soup for me on Wed!!)and there was no brownie on the last night. A completed evaluation form hadn\'t been collected from my room over the previous days and a \'fire exit\' sign was missing on the ceiling above an emergency exit, but these are only minor points. Many thanks to you & your colleagues for a very enjoyable stay in Bradford-on-Avon. John'

Review By - Mr. John Green
Travelling as - Single Male
Date - 26th August, 2016

Verified Customer

One night wonder!
4 stars 4

'Lovely Hotel, cannot fault it, stayed prior a 24 hour 3 Peak Challenge, whilst on top of one Peak, received text to say they had no hot water, so could cancel the planned stay on returning from the Peaks - which I did. Not easy finding an alternative on a Bank Holiday w/end.I was so looking forward to a lovely bath and a relaxing night.Shame.'

Review By - Mr. Iain Fisher
Travelling as - Single Male
Date - 21st June, 2016

Verified Customer

adequate for my journey
4 stars 4

'Location near to rail station. Clean and cozy room. Good and warm service :)'

Review By - Mr. Meik Fernberg
Travelling as - Business Traveller
Date - 21st March, 2016

Verified Customer

Lovely short break!
5 stars 5

'If you are looking for good value, great location and friendly staff, this is the place to go! Lovely open fire in the bar area and very comfotable and spacious rooms. Just wish our stay had been longer so we could have tried the extensive Thai menu served!'

Review By - Mrs. Esther Davies
Date - 7th March, 2016

Verified Customer

right in the centre of Bradford
3 stars 3

'I had wanted to stay at the Swan for many years as it is such an historic building and right in the centre of town. I booked online and got a cheap rate because it was a late booking. I was very pleased that we did, because although I was happy to pay £85, I would have been very disappointed if we had paid £135. Although there are some lovely bits, the decor of the whole hotel is tired and unappealing. Our room was fine, the bed very comfortable, and the facilities what we expected. However, it was very difficult to have a satisfying shower as there was very little pressure on the hot water. I also cleaned the mould off the shower head before I used it. There was a good choice for breakfast and we had no complaints with that. The manager was very professional and courteous.'

Review By - Mrs. Susan Mashford
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 1st March, 2016

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry we did not quite meet up to your expectations on some aspects of your stay, we have recently repainted all the rooms and our maintenance schedule is an ongoing programme with a building that is over 300 years old, having said that we certainly appreciate your comments on the room and will look into this in detail. Generally speaking we do not have problems with water pressure, particularly in the room you were in and I am very sorry about this, we would like to assure any readers of this review that it is not an issue we have had before or indeed since. Thank you once again for your review an we hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy the beautiful town of Bradford on Avon and all it has to offer'

7/11/2015
3 stars 3

'Second stay with you, very friendly staff. Disappointed that original booking for 2 Deluxe rooms was not met, error at hotel so took edge off our visit this occasion.'

Review By - Mr. Andy Williams
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 9th November, 2015

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, yes we sincerely apologise about the mix up of not being able to give you one of the rooms you had booked, but glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay'

1st Anniversary Weekend
4 stars 4

'We decided to come back to the town where we first met. The Swan is in an ideal location in the centre of town. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.'

Review By - Mrs. Claire Maule
Date - 20th August, 2015

Verified Customer

40th Birthday Celebrations
4 stars 4

'A friendly, hospitable hotel in a lovely setting. The ideal place for a weekend get-away with friends.'

Review By - Mrs. Jayne Watkins
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 3rd July, 2015

Verified Customer

Surprise family get together
5 stars 5

'I had never been to this hotel before but booked it as a surprise for my husbands birthday, with 4 other couples. All aspects of booking were easy online, and all questions answered excellently my the staff before I booked. On arrival, the hotel had everything ready for us, and were brilliant! Service and attention to details and keeping things secret, they were great! The rooms were large and airy and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I cannot thank the hotel staff enough and would recommend this hotel for a weekend or night away in a lovely part of the English countryside.'

Review By - Mrs. Jayne Watkins
Date - 2nd July, 2015

Verified Customer

very relaxed
5 stars 5

'found the hotel to have lovely character.The room was very clean & comfortable.All the staff were very friendly & helpful.We enjoyed our stay & would stay again.'

Review By - Mr. david starkie
Date - 27th June, 2015

Verified Customer

The Swan Hotel
5 stars 5

'An excellent hotel in a beautiful location. Clean and comfortable the hotel retains historic charms. The staff are polite and welcoming - I would thoroughly recommend'

Review By - Mrs. Carol Robertson
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 6th May, 2015

Verified Customer

Great Location!
4 stars 4

'Interesting mix of high quality rooms and \'public bar\' type eating! Food was good at dinner and breakfast but environment a bit \'functional\'. Definitely the best place to stay to take in the sights of the town. They even turn the church clock of at night..relief!!'

Review By - Mr. John Wright
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 9th April, 2015

Verified Customer

Swan around
5 stars 5

'Lovely family run inn. Guest rooms are large and very well presented....and the bed was huge! Good food, drinks, atmosphere and always something interesting on in the evening. Within a few minutes walk to the train station, which is only 15 mins from Bath.'

Review By - Mr. Paul Newton
Travelling as - Young Couple
Date - 7th April, 2015

Verified Customer

Week end stay
4 stars 4

'Warm and friendly welcome. Nice room clean and tidy. Good staff when we had dinner, food good. Breakfast good as well as staff. Would be happy to stay again.'

Review By - Mr. MARTIN STEARN
Date - 22nd March, 2015

Verified Customer

Weekend break
4 stars 4

'Warm welcome, helpful staff and a lovely old hotel. Great for short break but room was a bit tired looking, no soap for hand basin and no toilet roll. Just little things that need checking but overall a great spot to explore Bath from, relaxing.'

Review By - Mr. Andy Williams
Date - 1st March, 2015

Verified Customer

Quaint Old Hotel with Warm Welcome
4 stars 4

'We stayed overnight at the Swan whilst visiting friends. The staff were very welcoming and the room comfortable with a very large four poster bed. Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked with tasty items of our choice. We enjoyed our stay although it was brief.'

Review By - Mrs. Jill Coulthard
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 3rd January, 2015

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay'

Most Enjoyable Stay
4 stars 4

'We were visiting Bradford on Avon to attend a concert at the Music Centre. Found the Swan by Google and booked for 2 nights Dinner B&B. Our most lasting impression will be of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The room was comfortable and of a good size. Food quality was good both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very extensive menu for the former. Would certainly recommend and stay again.'

Review By - Mr. David Forder
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 16th December, 2014

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay'

Swan Hotel
4 stars 4

'Good location in the centre of Bradford. Room reasonable although lack of hot water was disappointing although compensation provided.'

Review By - Mr. Phil Gibson
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 5th December, 2014

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for your feedback, once again we apologise for the problems with the hot water which has now been corrected and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future'

Family trip
5 stars 5

'My daughter and I loved our stay at the Swan! It was like being in someones home. Clean, warm and friendly. The food was good and the service was great. Hopefully we will be back!'

Review By - Mrs. Yvonne Gosselin
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 22nd November, 2014

Verified Customer

Accommodation Response

'Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay'

super pub with rooms
4 stars 4

'very welcoming staff, good size rooms, nice food and super breakfast. Also serves excellent beer in formt of log fire. Perfect for a country weekend and 5 minutes form train to bath.'

Review By - Mrs. Sylvia Robinson
Travelling as - Mature Couple
Date - 17th November, 2014

Verified Customer

Stay
3 stars 3

'Rooms very comfortable and clean. Food nice but some confusion with the type of crumble!'

Review By - Mrs. Sarah Read
Date - 4th July, 2014

Verified Customer

pleasant stay
4 stars 4

'we were upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and enjoyed our stay, friendly staff and good location.'

Review By - Helen Singer
Date - 25th May, 2014

Verified Customer

good place!
4 stars 4

'Convoluted building - many stairs. Initial impression - corridors and general areas are dirty. BUT rooms are not,good cleanliness and very comfy beds. Meals are cleanly presented by very friendly staff. Warmed to the place after one day and thoroughly enjoyed being invited to sit in when Folk Club had their musical evening. Overall - a good place.'

Review By - Elaine Ballard
Date - 14th May, 2014

Verified Customer

Anniversary Celebration
5 stars 5

'Very impressed with our two nights stay, friendly welcome, excellent room, lovely bedding and very clean. (nice to have make tea in a teapot not in cups)Breakfast and evening meals most enjoyable and attentive staff. Would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.'

Review By - Mrs. Mary Farmer
Date - 23rd April, 2014

Verified Customer

Another lovely stay
5 stars 5

'We have stayed several times at The Swan over the last year whilst visiting our son in Bath. It is a lovely hotel, old and quirky and so much better than the boring corporate hotels one becomes accustomed to. The staff are excellent and I would particularly like to mention the waitress at breakfast yesterday morning who was outstanding and very attentive. Breakfast is served to order and extremely good too. Thank you and we shall be returning again soon. Sharon'

Review By - Mrs. Sharon Cox
Travelling as - Group of Adults
Date - 22nd April, 2014

Verified Customer

Anniversary Jaunt
4 stars 4

'From checking in to checking out, on our one night stay, all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel ideally located in the town. Food was excellent. Good atmosphere in the bar areas. Great room!'

Review By - Mr. Adrian Tate
Date - 22nd April, 2014

Verified Customer

Mr
4 stars 4

'Everything was fine - we've been before and will certainly visit again'

Review By - Keith Rushworth
Date - 9th April, 2014

Verified Customer

swan hotel
5 stars 5

'Absolutely fantastic stay. Room was excellent for the price asked. Very friendly atmosphere, food was fantastic an will 100% be coming again!'

Review By - Rose Clift
Date - 6th April, 2014

Verified Customer

Write Your Own Review

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!